Farewell

So this is farewell –
Soon I’ll be waving my hand
from somewhere else
(I suppose we all will);
Soon the lights will be turned low
and our shadows will fade
like mist;
Soon the curtain will fall
and the stage will be left bare;
Soon we’ll count the last second
on the clock
and we’ll say our last goodbyes.
But just when you come close
to forgetting a moment,
a friendship, a celebration,
think of me and I’ll think of you.
I’ll be the one waving my hand
from somewhere else.

Farewell.

Published in: on September 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tomd73.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/farewell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How bittersweet! I really like this, it’s very short but says everything you want to communicate so eloquently. I love the repetition of “waving my hand/from somewhere else.”

    • Thanks for the feedback. Glad that the repetition works.


Leave a Reply

