Sharing writing?

So I’m still very new – like a week along – at this whole blogging thing, and so far I’ve been talking a lot of meta talk: what I’ll do with my writing, how I sometimes get started with my writing, and so on.  But I’m wondering: is there wisdom in posting some of my actual writing – stuff composed not only for a blog entry, but for other purposes, possibly publication in journals and such?

On the PRO side, it could be a good way to get some feedback who care about writing.  Right?

On the ANTI side, it could be, um, I don’t know – might someone take my writing for their own nefarious purposes?  But that doesn’t really make sense since I can just copywright whatever I have.  I don’t know – but I can’t help but think that there must be a downside to all of this.

So if anyone has any thoughts, don’t be bashful . . .

Published in: on August 16, 2010 at 2:18 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tomd73.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/sharing-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can see where you’re coming from. I’ve posted one really short humorous story but it was for my blog. But I’ve browsed the “writing” tag and I’ve seen many authors put up their own writing, prologues, chapters etc. Other than that I don’t know.

  2. I am planning to post some of my writing. I mentioned that before in my posts. Hopefully, I will get some constructive feedback. I am not afraid of someone “stealing” it. Why would they do it? A lot of people post their writing on WordPress.

  3. Aloysa – Thanks for the heads up. Yeah, the stealing thing is a pretty flimsy notion. Looking forward to seeing what you have to share.

  4. I was hesitant the first time I posted a short story I wrote. Firstly, hesitant to show my writing to so many people. Secondly, I did originally have a few similar worries to yours buried down deep. However, now I see those worries as being silly. Writers like to showcase their own writing, afterall, not take someone else’s. I look forward to reading any works of yours if you decide to post them in the future.

    • Good points – and thanks for the encouragement!

  5. I’ve looked into the copyright issues before. There are lots of opinions on this. Blogs are considered owned by the writer and a form of publication, therefore you are covered. If you quote or post something that belongs to someone else, you either need permission or cite the person and their copyright. I joined an online writing workshop around the time I started writing a short story, mildly touching on H. P. Lovecraft’s universe of characters. I immediately got “attacked” by the moderator and a few others, claiming that Lovecraft’s work was not mine, blah, blah, etc. So I looked into the whole copyright issue. Turns out I was safe (for more than one reason) and I learned a few things about copyright law. Not a lot, just enough to get by.

    It’s fun to think of these little things that never once crossed your mind before.

    • Thanks for the heads up – especially with the specific example.

  6. I’m still pretty new at this blogging thing too. However, by putting yourself and your stories out there, you gain confidence in sharing your work and you learn to accept some criticism. More importantly, you begin a conversation with people who support you or have similar interests, and you start to form your own network of writer friends.

    Good luck to you!

    • Thanks – and hey, don’t be shy about reading some of the writing that I’ve posted. I have one complete story up (in three parts) and another that I’ve posted two sections of so far.


Leave a Reply

